Farewell Medium…Kinda

I’ve started my own website, because it was time

Mark Hackett
3 min readJun 30, 2022

Hello readers, I hope you are doing well!

I’m writing to you with some bittersweet news. A few months ago, I began to sense that Medium was no longer the best place for me. I still love the platform. I’ve met awesome writers and readers. And I’ve become a better writer in my time here, too. But platforms and people change.

I’ve launched my own website that I think will better meet my needs and the asks of readers: markhackett.com

There is not a single reason why I’m making this change, but I’ll share a few.

First, I think I’m ready to expand beyond writing. I launched a single-episode podcast over a year ago and, since then, quite a few people have been pushing me to interview more brilliant minds. Medium is not a podcast-friendly platform. It doesn’t advertise itself as one and I don’t expect it to be one. I need everything to have a single home, rather than having different styles of work in different places that followers have to find.

Second, there are some technical issues with Medium that have frustrated some of my readers. To my knowledge, over a dozen people have tried to sign up for my newsletter or become a member…

--

--

Mark Hackett

Writings about faith and culture from Memphis, TN. “That relentless, tall guy.”