A Response To Kaela Kaiser & Across My Heart Ministries

Confronting false binaries, understanding cultural bubbles, and being responsible with suffering

Mark Hackett
30 min readDec 10, 2021
Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

When writing online about complex and sensitive subjects, one will inevitably see their words be taken out of context. Like most writers, I don’t respond to every single criticism, especially disingenuous ones. Over the past year, I have responded to quite a few good-faith critiques and found those conversations to be helpful, even if we disagreed in the end.

Several readers have sent me a blogpost written by Kaela Kaiser with Across My Heart Ministries, a Michigan-based evangelical group working with young women. A piece I wrote in March on deconstruction is quoted and, disappointingly, was misused to promote some unhealthy and misleading claims. Before continuing here, you can see my original piece and Kaela’s below:

I reached out a few times seeking a dialogue and only received a reply as I was wrapping this response up. Kaela’s blogpost exhibits much of what is wrong with the…

--

--

Mark Hackett

Writings about faith and culture from Memphis, TN. “That relentless, tall guy.”